Spoon – Gimme Fiction

gimme_fiction-spoon_480jpg.gif

 

There is always one album. One album that always manages to get stuck with the back shelf in your mind when you are shopping. You always see it, but tell yourself you will grab it another time. For almost a year a put off this highly praised album by Spoon. Then I found the answer, I’ll put it on my Christmas list. So I finally got Gimme Fiction last Christmas, and I have been meaning to write this review for a long time now, but there has been so much good music over the past few months that I haven’t been able to write about it. I don’t usually do quotes from other reviews, but I copied it a while back cause I thought it was a very accurate description of the album (sadly, I never wrote where it is from, so my apologies for the plagiarism). “Nearly every song comes off as unassuming in its rightful place. Each track has a designed role, and for that reason you won’t need to use the skip button.”  This chaotic, genuine, well thought out pop album is phenomenal. The music rarely explodes with chaos, yet it is so delicately climactic that you almost feel ripped off when it doesn’t detonate with fury. That feeling goes away quickly once you learn to appreciate it for what it is. When I first got it, it didn’t leave the stereo for a month solid. Now, almost 6 months later, it is still in heavy rotation. Every song has something special to offer your ears. It’s been said that Daniel Britt is a pop genius. And until I heard this album, I thought that was some heavy overrating. Spoon’s early stuff (aside from Kill the Moonlight, which is a great album as well) is mediocre at best. But once you become enthralled and wrapped up in Gimme Fiction you will agree. Most of you have heard this before and would hopefully agree with me. But if you have somehow missed out on the sensation, check it out before their new album either launches them into stardom or crashes them down to nothing. Either way, this album will always have a spot in my rotation.

 

The Beast and Dragon, Adored

The Delicate Place

Sister Jack

~ by dtags21 on May 25, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
