Coachella Story Time #1

The thing about Indio is it’s a desert. There isn’t a cloud in the sky and the blazing sun does nothing but send blazing heat to the earth’s surface all day. They don’t even have a morning. As soon as the sun comes up at 7:30, its instantly in the 80’s. Then it doesn’t take longer than 3 hours to get to the days high of 101 degrees. To emphasize how hot this is, take a look at this picture.

This is a picture of my leg and a lighter at about 11 am. The lighter, as you can see, had blown up and set fire to my leg hair. The loud explosion startled all of us. What’s worse is the lighter was sitting in the shade of our tent when it popped. It wasn’t even in the sunlight. It was in the coolest spot of our tent and it exploded. Anyways, when we arrived and set up shop, we were all exhausted. I hadn’t slept longer than an hour the whole trip, and the other guys had been traveling for way longer than I had and only had 2-3 hours of shut eye in their system. After we got a free Jack and Coke from one of our neighbors, we decided it would be best to take a nap before the show. Unsuccessful. Way to hot in the tent with 3 guys practically cuddling. I gave up after 15 minutes to go attempt hacky sac (by attempt, I mean I have been trying to play hack for years now, and though I have tried with all might, I still manage to blow ass) with some neighboring British guys. It wasn’t too long before the gates opened and we were sent into the festival. By the time Jesus and Mary Chain got onstage (in case you don’t have the schedule sitting in front of you like I do, that’s about 7:40) I was already feeling the effects of my decision. By the end of Bjork all 3 of us had fallin asleep somewhere on the ground. I missed the second half of her set, and Matt fell asleep as soon as we sat down to wait for Jesse at DJ Shadow. It had been a long 48 hours for all of us. For me, I know that was the longest I have ever attempted to stay awake.

~ by dtags21 on May 6, 2007.

One Response to “Coachella Story Time #1”

  1. Hey man,

    I’m sorry to have slighted you in my latest posting. In all truthfulness I ALFDTR as one of those personal blogs that tended to post a lot of music in the process, but I guess I could have asked you about it first. I hope you noticed that I included you in my blogroll a long time ago anyway and for sure I’ve got you tagged in my RSS reader as a one of the blogs I check on a regular basis.

    It sounds like you had a pretty good time at Coachella. Had I known you be swinging back by LA afterwards we might have been able to hang out for a minute. Unfortunately I was rather wrapped up in things with the girl I was on the verge of breaking up with at the time.

    I’m actually putting together my Coachella post as we speak. I hope there are no hard feelings in regards to your feeling as though I left you out. You may or may not have heard about my attempts at starting a regular “guest post” feature over at The Alternakids, and I was hoping that maybe you’d be interested in doing one. I think it’d be a great way to help generate some cross-traffic between both of our blogs.

Leave a Reply

 
