Coachella: Road Trip Home

 

The way home was such a better trip. After we dropped my brother off at the airport, Jesse and I swung by Los Angeles to stop at the most beautiful wall in the United States. I brought my journal on this trip because I was hoping I would think of what I wanted to write on the wall sometime over the course of the weekend. But I didn’t, and we sat in the car for about an hour once we got there trying to figure out what it was I wanted to write on it. Looking back, I could’ve thought of something better. But the writing wasn’t so much the important thing. It was being there. I felt like I was in a holy place, like a sanctuary or something. I was in total awe. I never thought I was going to make it to this wall. I cant believe I finally did. With all that had happened over the course of that weekend, I think this might have been my highlight that I will always remember. Obviously, I’m gonna remember the show too, but this is different. This is a tribute to my favorite singer. This is like Julia Dippel going to Graceland. I was there. And for the next hour or so we listened to nothing but Elliott Smith in the car, and it couldn’t have been more perfect.

Then we started the drive up the coast. What a gorgeous way to end our weekend. Driving along side the coast with all the rocks, cliffs, twists and turns was such a delight. A breathtaking sight around every corner made for a much better trip. We stopped in San Jose to see an old friend from High School, then it was back on the road. We drove all through the night to get back to Seattle by 11 am. Let me tell you, I no longer had the energy I had coming out to indio. I had 3 energy drinks in me just to keep my eyes open. Of course then all the caffeine hit me at once and the next thing I know I’m smoking a cigarette every 10 minutes with the window down, scratching my head like a crack head. All in all, this was one of the best weekends of my life. Enough said.

~ by dtags21 on May 6, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
