Explosions in the Sky

explosions1.jpg

Coachella is Friday, so it looks as though I have one more chance to write to you before I leave. I am once again writing about a Coachella artist. Since the line-up was posted a few months back I have been discovering and trying out some of the bands I didn’t know. I have saved the best for last.

It happened again. The infamous record store addiction. It hasn’t happened in a while so I figured it was due. I was shopping at Sonic Boom in Fremont, browsing the titles looking for my new favorite band. The speakers that were blaring obscene rap music a moment before had become silent. I was anticipating the album change. I already had a headache and the rap wasn’t helping. Then the silence was broken. And I was hooked. Usually I fight the idea. Usually I enter this odd state of denial as if I think I can overcome this craving. But this time, I didn’t fight it. From the first minute of the first track I knew I was going to buy that album. I didn’t waste another second. I think I walked out of the record store with Explosions in the Sky before the first track was even done playing.

Coming out of Austin, Texas, this 4-piece expressive (I didn’t want to say emo and scare you off) rock group just released their 4th LP entitled “All of a Sudden I miss Everyone”. They got a little media attention back in 2001 after the release of their album “Thosexplosions_242716d.jpge Who Tell the Truth Shall Die, Those Who Tell the Truth Shall Live Forever” was thought to have something to do with the 9/11 attacks. The cover shows an airplane crashing that reads “This plane will crash tomorrow”. Although the album came out in late August, it was rumored to have come out September 10th. Not really the kind of attention I’m sure the band was hoping for, but press is press. This band is nothing more than 3 guitarists and a drummer. There isn’t a word uttered on the whole album, and yet I think I have connected to this one more than any other release of 2007. The band also has an appropriate name, as all 6 songs on the album reach such an incredible climax. Closely resembling the Icelandic band Sigur Ros in style, they give the instrumental feeling a nice kick of indie rock. This album is a really good one to just become enveloped in. I can’t wait to see their live show at Coachella (especially since both nights sold out in Seattle).

So the next time you check this blog, there will be an onslaught of Coachella reviews. If you were unable to grab one of the outrageously overpriced tickets before they sold out, fear not. You can still be there to capture the magic. AT&T blueroom is broadcasting most of the festival online. So if you’re sitting at home on Saturday afternoon and you feel like checking out what your friend David Taggerty is doing, go to the AT&T Blueroom and click on the Coachella tab. Then text me and ask me what show I’m at. Then you can click on the band I am currently watching. It will be just like you are standing in the 100 degree heat next to me.

The track that started it all…

Explosions in the Sky – The Birth and Death of the Day

~ by dtags21 on April 25, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
